• Visit our online plant database, http://plantdatabase.kath.gov.np/
  • Museum


  • Herbarium Building

    Herbarium Building

  • Cryptogams (Mycology Section)

    Cryptogams (Mycology Section)

  • Visit to Xylarium Section

    Visit to Xylarium Section

  • Mounting of Herbarium Specimens

    Mounting of Herbarium Specimens

  • DDG of DPR Mr. Saroj Kumar Chaudhary at NHPL Museum

    DDG of DPR Mr. Saroj Kumar Chaudhary at NHPL Museum

  • Cryptogams (Algae Section)

    Cryptogams (Algae Section)

  • Sectioning of plant tissue using Microtome

    Sectioning of plant tissue using Microtome

The National Herbarium and Plant Laboratories (NHPL) is situated at the base of Phulchoki Hill (85°22’ 59.4” E; 27°35’38.2” N and 1530 m asl) in the South East corner of Kathmandu Valley. It was established in 1961 as a Botanical Survey and Herbarium under the Department of Medicinal Plants (DMP). Later, it was renamed as National Herbarium and Plant Laboratories (NHPL), as a Central Level Office – under the Department of Plant Resources (DPR), Ministry of Forests and Environment. The NHPL is abbreviated as the ‘KATH’ Herbarium in ‘Index Herbariorum (IH)’ for its global identity. It is the Government institute focused on country-wide exploration, collection and scientific identification of plants. Since its establishment, plant expeditions have been conducted all over Nepal from its own capacity as well as from collaboration with foreign institutions. It is both oldest and largest Herbarium in Nepal as it has preserved more than 165,000 herbarium specimens, 117 Type Specimens and more than 600 museum specimens of plants. It has been a source of information for botanists, students, traders and researchers. The institute is one of the members of Global Taxonomy Initiative (GTI) Nepal. This institute mainly has supported the students, researchers and traders for academic, trade promotion and judicial processes by providing scientific identification services. So, it has established as the ‘reference center’ for botanists, students, researchers and traders. Structurally, it consists of eight technical sections and one administrative section (Account and Administration) to execute its functions well.

Subhash Khatri
Subhash Khatri Chief, Senior Research Officer [ View all officials ]